Umpire Blunder at US Open

The Williams sisters must feel snake bit right about now. At Wimbledon, Venus was on the wrong side of an incorrect score during a final set tie breaker. And last night at the US Open, the umpire took a point away from Serena. The TV replay clearly showed that Serena’s winner was in and that the line official called it in. But Capriati somehow ended up with the point.

The more I think about it, the more I like the NFL treatment of replay challenges. Make review rare to preserve the flow of the game, but make it possible to force review of important plays.